top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe San Juan Daily Star

Baseball Federation presents team that will defend at Caribbean Cup

The Most Valuable Player of the 2023 season of the Double A Superior Baseball League, Kevin Luciano, is one of several standouts on the Puerto Rico national team roster that will compete in the Caribbean Cup.

By The Star Staff

The Puerto Rico Baseball Federation (FBPR) announced on Thursday the list of the 24 players who will make up the national team that will defend the island’s championship in the upcoming fifth edition of the Copa del Caribe (Caribbean Cup).

The event, organized by the Caribbean Baseball Confederation (COCABE) and endorsed by the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC), will take place in Puerto Rico starting this Sunday and will run until October 8.

The team, led by former big leaguer Juan “Igor” González, was made up of players from the FBPR’s Double A Superior Baseball League.

“The process of making the team was a bit complex, understanding that at this time many players choose to take a break or plan vacations,” said Efraín Williams González, executive director of the FBPR and national teams administrator. “Fortunately, we have a good talent bank, who always say yes to the national team.”

Along with Puerto Rico, national teams from Cuba, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Curaçao will compete in the Caribbean Cup.

The list of the 24 chosen players is headed by former major league infielders Ozzie Martínez and Yadiel Rivera. The Most Valuable Player of the 2023 season of the Double A Superior Baseball League, Kevin Luciano, and the Pitcher of the Year, Miguel Mejía, also stand out. In addition, pitchers Andrés Santiago, Freddie Cabrera and Luis Leroy Cruz will strengthen the roster.

“Since Juan ‘Igor’ González has been the national [team] leader, our teams have been characterized by their defense and good pitching,” Williams González said. “Players have come and gone, but the essence of the team is the same.”

The Puerto Rico roster for the Caribbean Cup:

POSITION PLAYERS: Jonathan Nieves, Kerby Camacho, Ozzie Martínez, Jeremy Rivera, Yadiel Rivera, Kenen Irizarry, Kevin Luciano, Miguel Egea, Joseph Monge, Nelson Molina, Johnuelle Ponce, Abdel Guadalupe.

PITCHERS: Marvin Gorgas, Jimmy González, Andrés Santiago, Freddie Cabrera, Alexander Castro, José Diana, Luis Leroy Cruz, Christian Torres, Ojani Chacón, Julio Torres, Miguel Martínez, Miguel Mejía.

69 views0 comments


bottom of page