top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe San Juan Daily Star

Disaster Recovery Centers to close in 4 towns

By The Star Staff

The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) temporary Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Caguas, Mayagüez, Ponce and Vega Baja will close permanently on Thursday, Dec. 8 at 5 p.m.

Meanwhile, the hours of service will be Monday through Thursday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until the closure, after which survivors can still check the status of their application online at or through the FEMA mobile app. People can also call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-3362 to discuss their case with a FEMA representative. Press 1 for English, 2 for Spanish and 3 for other languages.

People who use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned phone service, or others must provide FEMA with the number assigned for this service.

Phone lines operate from 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. seven days a week.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page