• The San Juan Daily Star

Governor to evaluate who can be renominated for posts

Acting Education Secretary Eliezer Ramos Parés

By The Star Staff

As soon as the current legislative session is over, Gov. Pedro Pierluisi Urrutia said Monday, he will evaluate which nominees for agency positions he can renominate after the island Senate failed to act on them.

“We have to do the legal study, it is ongoing, to know which ones we can renominate within the applicable rules,” the governor said at a press conference.

“I am going to renominate, if I can I am going to do it for all the candidates,” he added. “If for some reason there is a legal obstacle for me reappointing someone, then that will weigh in my decision.”

Some 20 appointments will not be considered by the Senate. These include Innovation and Informatics head Enrique Völckers Nin, Insurance Commissioner Mariano Mier Romeu and Judge Jorge Díaz Reverón, who is seeking a position in the Court of Appeals. Those three positions were reappointed by the governor because the Senate did not consider them in the ordinary session that ended in June.

In the case of the acting Education Secretary Eliezer Ramos Parés, Pierluisi anticipated that he would reveal soon who will be in charge of that agency.

Another appointment that culminates at the close of the legislative session today is that of Emergency Management and Disaster Administration Commissioner Nino Correa Filomeno.

In addition, the Senate will not evaluate the appointment of Manuel Laboy Rivera as a member of the Convention District Authority governing board and Alejandro Camporreale Mundo as a member of the University of Puerto Rico governing board.

The Senate also did not evaluate other judges appointed to the Court of Appeals, including Camille Rivera Pérez, Ricardo Gil Marrero Guerrero, José Johel Monge Gómez and Juan Carlos Negrón Rodríguez.

For the Superior Court, the nominations of Santos Ramos Lugo, Henry Menéndez Garced, Tomás Eduardo Báez Collado, Néstor Acevedo Rivera, Wanda I. Casiano Sosa and Katarina Stipek Rubio will remain unattended.

The nominations of Vanessa Rozo Ortega and Roberto Juan Capestany Quiñonez as municipal judges are to be left hanging as well.

39 views0 comments