PR Justice secretary joins $573 million settlement with consulting firm McKinsey & Co.

Justice secretary-designate Domingo Emanuelli

By John McPhaul

Puerto Rico’s Justice secretary-designate, Domingo Emanuelli Hernández, joined a coalition of attorneys general from 47 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories late last week in a $573 million settlement with the consulting firm McKinsey & Co. in connection with its work promoting drugs and medications to benefit from the opioid epidemic.

As part of the agreement, Puerto Rico will receive $4,338,607, after payment of costs, which will be used to alleviate the problems caused by the abuse of opioids. This is the first agreement that has resulted in a substantial payment to states and territories to address the epidemic.

The lawsuit that was filed in the case details how McKinsey advised Purdue to maximize profits from its opioid products, including targeting high-volume opioid prescribers, using targeted messages for physicians to prescribe OxyContin to more patients, and circumventing pharmacy restrictions to deliver high-dose prescriptions.

The opioid epidemic has caused considerable damage to individuals and communities in Puerto Rico, with island residents losing their lives as a consequence. Economically, the epidemic has created considerable costs for Puerto Rico in the form of health care, child welfare, criminal justice, and many other programs necessary to fight against it.

The Puerto Rico Department of Justice, through its Office of Monopoly Affairs, continues to investigate and litigate against other companies that are also responsible for the opioid epidemic and its lethal effects.

Emanuelli was emphatic in indicating that he will spare no effort in bringing all those responsible to justice.

The investigation by the states was led by an executive committee composed of California, Colorado, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee and Vermont.

The executive committee was joined by Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska , New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, and the territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands.

20 views0 comments