Sara Rosario re-elected to head Olympic Committee

By John McPhaul

Sara Rosario Vélez was re-elected as president of the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee (COPUR by its Spanish acronym) this past weekend in a special meeting at the Casa Olímpica in Old San Juan.

Rosario Vélez is now in her third and final term as president.

“I have a new beginning in my heart, thanks to the unanimous support received from the delegates to lead in my last term the body that is always with the athletes, the Olympic Committee,” she said.

Meanwhile, the following were chosen for the board of directors: Víctor Ruiz Ramos, first vice president; Víctor López, second vice president; Carlos Beltrán Svelti, secretary general; Iván Santos Ortega, assistant secretary; Humberto Torres, treasurer; and Mildred Colón, deputy treasurer.

Lopéz was elected second vice president in favor of the Volleyball Federation delegate, César Trabanco, and Colón was left to fill the vacant position of assistant treasurer after the triathlon delegate, Fernando Delgado, withdrew his candidacy.

In an extraordinary meeting this Saturday, two members will be chosen from the group of delegates that represent sports federations in the Olympic program.

“This is a different time [from when] I arrived in 2012 due to the challenges we have, facing an economic crisis that the pandemic has worsened,” Rosario Vélez said. “However, I reaffirm my commitment and that of my executive committee to be there for our athletes in the good and not so good. We will continue to work united to meet our goals.”

The delegate of the Canoeing Federation, Víctor Ruiz, led the Elections Committee along with Shotgun Federation delegate Manuel Guzmán and Andrés Vargas, the delegate of the Weightlifting Federation. The legal adviser was Julio Eduardo Torres.