top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe San Juan Daily Star

Governor submits 36 appointments to Legislature

Gov. Pedro Pierluisi

Correa to NMEAD, along with PRITS & DACO, are among them

By The Star Staff

Gov. Pedro Pierluisi Urrutia announced on Monday the sending of 36 appointments to the Legislative Assembly for consideration during the start of the Seventh Ordinary Session 2021-2024.

Among the appointments submitted, there are 23 that were not attended to in the previous legislative session. The governor also appointed Lisoannette González Ruíz as secretary of the Department of Consumer Affairs (DACO). In addition, he submitted for the advice and consent of the Senate of Puerto Rico Nino Correa Filomeno to direct the Bureau of Emergency Management and Disaster Administration (NMEAD) and Antonio Ramos Guardiola as executive director of the Government Information and Technology Service (PRITS}.

“I submit to the advice and consideration of the Legislative Assembly the appointments of excellent professionals, competent and committed to the well-being and progress of Puerto Rico,” the governor said in a written statement. “I trust that they will be evaluated on their merits, considering their capabilities and experience.”

The appointments submitted in the previous legislative session that were not taken up include the veteran’s advocate, Agustín Montañez Allman. Pierluisi also resubmitted the appointments of eight judges to the Superior Court and one judge to the Municipal Court. Likewise, four prosecutors, two juvenile affairs attorneys and a property registrar.

The governor also submitted the appointments of a member of the Public Service Appeals Commission, a member of the Pilotage Commission, two members of the governing board of the Aqueduct and Sewer Authority, a member of the Parole Board and two members for the Regulatory Board of Reeducation and Retraining Programs for Aggressors.

Likewise, Pierluisi submitted to the Senate the appointment of María Teresa Quintana as commissioner and chairperson of the Industrial Commission. He did the same with the appointments of René Acosta and Raúl Bustamente as members of the Tourism Company board of directors, as well as the appointments of Carmen Ruiz Fischler, José Vega Santana and Fernando Llavona Torres as new members of the board of directors of the Puerto Rico Corporation for Public Broadcasting (WIPR).

Meanwhile, the governor submitted the name of Terilyn Sastre to the University of Puerto Rico governing board and that of Alicia Díaz as a member and chairperson of the Food and Nutrition Commission.

23 views0 comments


bottom of page